Week 32 has seen us at Stanway, an exceptionally beautiful Jacobean manor house in the roly-poly Cotswold hills of Gloucestershire.
Owned by Tewkesbury Abbey for 800 years and more recently (the last 500 years) by the Tracy family and their descendants. The Earls of Wemyss still live there and warmly welcomed us this week.
The Stanway estate was leased from Tewkesbury Abbey by Richard Tracy in 1533, and following the Dissolution, his family purchased the freehold in the 1580s.
INTERIORS: Between 1883 and 1937 Stanway was made over to Hugo, later eleventh Earl of Wemyss, who lived there with his wife Mary Wyndham. During their time Stanway became the central meeting place of their wide circle of literary and artistic friends known as ‘The Souls’.
Church, park and Grounds:
Keeping things local. The 24-foot overshot waterwheel, made by local iron-masters James Savory of Tewkesbury ca.1850, drives traditional cast-iron machinery and a fully operational flour mill.
Stanway also boasts a brewery (one of only two log fired breweries in the UK.)